Tuesday, February 07, 2012

Oh no! Your deleted Pics are still on facebook!

In the name of Allah, compassionate & merciful بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيمِ
Peace be with you السلام عليك
I haven't posted any of my own personal pictures online in a ,long, long, LONG time so I felt pretty safe that my unhijabi pictures wont prop up anywhere and bite me in the butt.  That little bubble was burst today when reading this article (Deleted Facebook Photos Still Accessible Online, Years Later). OH SNAP!

Lesson....the internet DOES NOT FORGET and facebook LIES...A LOT.


4 comments:

Irendi said...

This is especially true if you've tagged others in a photo. I learned that b/c someone deleted photos I was tagged in. The pics are deleted from that person's profile, but are available on mine if you click the photos I'm tagged in.

NeverEver said...

i shut down my account when i converted to Islam/started covering. I asked my friends to delete their pictures of me and stuff but there are still some up there.

facebook kind of sucks... if someone put my picture up without my consent, facebook won't do diddly squat about it.

when i opened a new facebook i decided nooo pictures. not even me covered up pictures. none.

.::Tuttie::. said...

@Irendi. WHAT?! no way, did not know that. That's crazy.

.::Tuttie::. said...

@NeverEver. That works but like Irendi mentioned, someone can still upload pics of you. One would just hope friends would have more courteous about posting pics online that weren't them.